How to Enter the Not Equal Sign (≠) Using Your Keyboard

Mathematical operators such as +, – and = are commonly taught in school and are second nature to most of us. However, there is an operator that is less commonly used due to its absence from standard computer keyboards – the not equal sign (≠). The not equal sign is a mathematical symbol used to denote inequality, especially when comparing two unequal values (e.g. A ≠ B). This symbol is represented by two horizontal parallel lines with a forward slash in the middle.

Most computer keyboards do not support the not equal sign, making it difficult to type directly. However, there are various methods to type this symbol, including using keyboard shortcuts. For Windows keyboards with a numeric keypad, the shortcut is Alt + 8800. For Mac keyboards, the shortcut is Option + =. In Microsoft Word, the symbol insertion feature can be used, while Google Docs also has a similar feature.

If none of these methods work, the Character Map application in Windows can be used to find and copy the not equal sign. This symbol can then be pasted into the desired document or application.